2017 Info

  • 2017 Bowness Photography Prize - Winner Polixeni Papapetrou
  • 2017 Bowness Photography Prize - Honourable Mention Del Kathryn BARTON
  • 2017 Bowness Photography Prize - Honourable Mention Danica Chappell
  • 2017 Bowness Photography Prize - Honourable Mention Jenny Pollak

The William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize

One of Australia’s most established photographers Polixeni Papapetrou has won Australia’s most prestigious photography prize, the $30 000 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize with her work ‘Delphi’ (2016) from the series Eden.

"This year's Bowness Photography Prize exhibition is a big jewellery box full of treasure. And the winning photograph is an absolute gem!" said judge Susan Fereday.

This year’s judging panel, artist and educator Susan Fereday, architect and collector Corbett Lyon, and MGA Senior Curator Stephen Zagala selected Papapetrou’s work from a record 897 entries – the largest number received in the history of the prize.

Established in 2006 to promote excellence in photography, the annual William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize is an initiative of the MGA Foundation. The Bowness Photography Prize has quickly become Australia's most coveted photography prize. It is also one of the country's most open prizes for photography. In the past, finalists have included established and emerging photographers, art and commercial photographers. All film-based and digital work from amateurs and professionals is accepted. There are no thematic restrictions.

Finalists include: Hoda Afshar, Tim Allen, Rushdi Anwar, Kris Arnold, Robert Ashton, Peter Barnes, Del Kathryn Barton,  Colin Batrouney, Elaine Batton, Olga Bennett, Vanessa Bertagnole, Tom Blachford, Polly Borland, Peter Bratuskins, Eric Bridgeman, Jane Burton, Elaine Campaner, Stuart Chape, Danica Chappell, Peta Clancy, Emilio Cresciani, Gerwyn Davies, Lauren Dunn, Tanya Maria Dyhin, Amos Gebhardt, Silvi Glattauer, Robert Hague, Rhett Hammerton, Alana Holmberg, Eliza Hutchison, Leah King-Smith, Peter Lambropoulos, Helga Leunig nee' Salwerowicz, Jon Lewis, Janelle Low, Tayla Martin, Kent Morris, Nasim Nasr, Will Nolan, Jill Orr and Christina Simons, Polixeni Papapetrou, Izabela Pluta, Jenny Pollak, Clare Rae, Kate Robertson, David Rosetzky, Jo Scicluna, Damien Shen, Matthew Sleeth, David Stephenson and Martin Walch, Suellen Symons, Christian Thompson, Tobias Titz, James Tylor, Henri van Noordenburg, Justine Varga, Lisa Walker, Amanda Williams, Robin Williams.

Entry dates for 2018 coming soon. To keep up to date on all things happening at MGA join our enews

  • 2017 Finalists
  • 2017 Supporters
  • Judging panel
  • MGA Foundation
  • History
The Australian home of photography