Established in 2006 to promote excellence in photography, the annual William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize is an initiative of the MGA Foundation

The Bowness Photography Prize has quickly become Australia's most important photography prize. It is also one of the country's most open prizes for photography. In the past, finalists have included established and emerging photographers, art and commercial photographers. All film-based and digital work from amateurs and professionals is accepted. There are no thematic restrictions.

Previous recipients of the William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize

2006 | Kathy MACKEY
2007 | Ray COOK
2008 | Nat THOMAS & Concertina INSERRA
2009 | Paul KNIGHT more info
2010 | Lee GRANT more info
2011 | Jacky REDGATE more info
2012 | Jesse MARLOW more info
2013 | Pat BRASSINGTON more info
2014 | Petrina HICKS more info
2015 | Joseph McGLENNON more info
2016 | Valerie SPARKS more info
2017 | Polixeni PAPAPETROU more info
2018 | Hoda AFSHAR more info
2019 | Katrin KOENNING more info

See the past winners in the MGA Collection here

  • 2020 Info
  • 2020 Finalists
  • 2020 Judging panel
  • Photography on the streets!
  • 2020 People's Choice Award
  • MGA Foundation
The Australian home of photography