2022 Info

Over the last 16 years, the Bowness Photography Prize has emerged as an important annual survey of contemporary photographic practice in Australia and one of the most prestigious prizes in the country. In 2005 the MGA Foundation was established with the aim of supporting MGA and its significant collection, as well as its unique commitment to photographic art and in 2006 initiated the inaugural William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize to promote excellence in photography and support contemporary artists working in the medium.

Entries are now closed

Finalists announced
Thursday 28 July 2022

Exhibition dates
29 September – 13 November 2022

Award announcement
Thursday 6 October 2022

To keep up to date on all things happening at MGA join our enews

Also keep an eye on our social media channels (see links above) and our dedicated Bowness Photography Prize facebook page

  • 2022 Specifications and FAQs
  • Wai Tang Commissioning Award
  • 2021 Finalists
  • 2022 Judging panel
  • MGA Foundation
  • History of the prize
The Australian home of photography