Bowness Prize

2015 Bowness Photography Prize

25 September 2015 to 22 November 2015

The annual $25,000 non-acquisitive William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize is an initiative of the MGA Foundation.

MGA Senior Curator, Stephen Zagala was joined by two of Australia’s most notable art world figures, Bill Henson and Karen Quinlan, to select the finalists for this year.

Finalists: Anne Algar, Brook Andrew, Robert Ashton, Svetlana Bailey, Del Kathryn Barton, Clare Bedford, David Bibby, Devika Bilimoria, Frederico Câmara, Peter Campbell, Danica Chappell, Che Chorley, Peta Clancy, Virginia Cummins, Rebecca Dagnall, Cherine Fahd, David Flanagan, Murray Fredericks, Silvi Glattauer, Wayne Grivell, Molly Harris, Kern Hendricks, Lyndal Irons, Mark Kimber, Courtney Krawec, Michael Krzanich, Cathy Laudenbach, Jon Lewis, David Manley, AHC McDonald, Joseph McGlennon, Rod McNicol, Bill Moseley, Ward Roberts, Daniel Shipp, Valerie Sparks, Rodney Stewart, Rebekah Stuart, Ian Tippett, Justine Varga, John Watson, Kim Westcott, Peter Whyte, Amanda Williams, Rudi Williams, Melissa Williams-Brown and Carolyn Young.

On Thursday 1 October Joseph McGlennon was announced as the $25,000 winner of the William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize. Colour Factory Honourable Mentions were awarded to Peter Campbell, Daniel Shipp and Valerie Sparks.

Voting for the Crumpler People's Choice Award is available until Sunday 22 November 2015.

The MGA Foundation would like to thank Colour Factory, Crumpler, Sofitel and Art Guide for their support, read more...

Current Exhibitions

  • Not standing still: new approaches in documentary photography

Upcoming Exhibitions

  • Develop
  • STAGES: photography through the pandemic

Past Exhibitions

Atrium Gallery

  • STAGES: life in lockdown
  • When the sun sleeps
Clare Jellie
  • Atrium Gallery – information

Travelling Exhibitions

  • John Gollings: the history of the built world
  • The light fades but the gods remain | Bill Henson
  • Robyn Stacey: as still as life

Bowness Prize

  • William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2019 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2018 William & Winifred Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2017 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2016 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2015 Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2014 Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2013 Bowness Photography Prize
  • 2012 Bowness Photography Prize
The Australian home of photography